Another Good Thing

I have another good thing to share with you. Maybe I should come up with a new name for these tips. I don’t want Martha’s people to come after me. If you have any ideas, please let me know in a comment!

Anywho, you know how you see something new (a new word, a new concept, a new thing), and then suddenly you immediately see it three more places (most often as a Jeopardy question the next day). This is scientifically referred to as “Apple Butter” in my circle.

My mom is a teacher, and one day, she and her students were talking about eating apple butter. One of the students had never heard of the delicious fruit spread, and came back the next day to report that her grandmother had served biscuits with apple butter the very night she learned of it. From hence forth and forevermore, this term came to be.

Back on track again…this tip/trick/pointer is to “paint” shortening on your cake pans with a pastry brush. Apparently, it is the best and ONLY way to go, and I’ve seen it several places in the last week. It must be true! I will never spray again.

I had a little square of shortening left up in the cabinet from making biscuits, and I added it to a small plastic container to use for this purpose in the future. My pastry brush is a little on the different side. It’s silicone. There are pros and cons to it, but at least, I don’t get the little “hairs” from the other kind.

The next step in this process is to coat the pan with flour (or cocoa powder for chocolate cakes) to complete the non-stick barrier.


One Comment on “Another Good Thing”


Leave a comment